Listening While You Work

Photo on 1-3-16 at 6.38 PM

I am one of those painters who likes to listen to something while they work. It may have started when I worked at a clothing printing business. All day we stood on our feet and hand-printed beautiful organic garments. When people saw us at work they always said “It looks like so much fun to work here.” While it was great to be paid for my creative efforts, the job was actually a lot of work… and at times it was a little tedious. Standing on one’s feet all day is not entirely easy, as you may well know.

While I stood there, it seemed like the literary part of my mind was atrophying, while the other part was dealing with shape and color. In order to stay focused and entertained, I listened to  books on CD. We were allowed to listen to music on headphones, so why not a book? I got all my audiobooks from the local library, which was great because they were free. I listened to almost the entire Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, and every other audiobook I found slightly interesting. Too bad I didn’t really know about interlibrary loan at that time (downloading wasn’t really a thing yet). It wasn’t long before I had exhausted the audiobook collection.

When I started working at a library and discovered downloadable audiobooks. I  was able to listen to Janet Evanovich’s wonderful Stephanie Plum series, which features a retired hooker sidekick named Lula! Those books are worth it. Also, I love Alexander McCall Smith. His books make you chuckle softly. “Oh, I recognize that person,” you might say to yourself while listening to one of his books.

Recently, a friend of mine recommended I listen to The Saavy Painter podcast created by Antrese Wood. It has been one of the most wonderful things to listen to while I paint. I think it might be changing my life and my attitudes about making art. I have even been recommending it to people who don’t make art. I highly recommend it, and I am not a secret agent working for The Saavy Painter. If you run out of Saavy Painter podcasts, you can see what your library has to offer. There are so many options out there in this digital age.

Here are some other great things to listen to:

7 Essential Podcasts for Artists

What are your favorite things to listen to while you create?

2 thoughts on “Listening While You Work

  1. Nicole, I am not surprised at all that we like the same authors. I have enjoyed books by the same authors you mentioned in your post. Your blog looks great! I don’t listen to anything when I write. After reading your post, I am thinking it’s a good idea to listen to something while we create. Thanks!

    Like

    1. So glad you like the look. I just updated it:) It is funny, but I can’t really listen to words when I write. Sometimes even mellow music is too distracting. I also reach point when I’m painting that needs silence. So, maybe there is another post in the future about silence and creativity…

      Like

Leave a Reply

